The last one… for now

The Last One… For Now
My journey as the Optimist Blogger began one year ago when I decided to start sharing ideas on optimism, kindness and community.
I had several goals in mind when writing these posts:


1) Be of service to people.
2) Work on my consistency and persistence.
3) Challenge myself and those around me.
4) Share stories of inspiration in a dark time.
5) Learn and grow every week in order to have something to post.


I started my blog with a story of a simple smile to a Woolworths shop teller in the Umhalanga Airport in South Africa.
Almost one year to the day from posting that I was standing in Woolworths, Umhalanga. About 20km from the one in the airport. I do not live in this area and I was visiting for a holiday.
I had just got off a frustrating call with insurance saying that I had to pay a lot of money for an accident that I didn’t cause…
I was not in my best mood and despite the beautiful surroundings, I was feeling annoyed.
I needed some basic groceries so I walked from my temporary desk at the coffee shop into the store. I got to the cashier, ready to pay for my groceries and go back to the coffee shop.
While I was standing there I heard the teller in the counter next to mine say, “Sorry Madam, but you don’t have any more credit.”
I saw a middle-aged woman look so despondent. She had could not pay for her two items and she began to walk out the store with her head down.
I stopped her and asked if she needed me to pay for her shopping…
If it wasn’t for this blog, I don’t think I would have had the courage to stop her and offer to pay.
Recently, I have started my own business. I returned to the field of education and although it is my passion my earnings have decreased. I have had to become more careful about how I choose to spend money. Yet, there was an opportunity to do good and I’m really proud I took it.
I encourage you all to look for moments of kindness, believe that the world can be good and that people are inherently good!
Thank you to all my readers for giving me the courage and feedback which has made this journey so worth it!
I will post again in the future but for now I am taking a break!
Feel free to reach out if you ever need some optimism or someone to listen to you!!
Lastly, I want you to stop for a moment and do one thing…


IMAGINE A BETTER WORLD TOGETHER!


From my heart to yours,
Ari ❤

Leave a comment